top of page

Today's Changing Workforce Demographic

With millennials taking over the workforce and less and less baby boomers running companies, workforce demographics is surely changing. The article I found states "millennials now make up the largest demographic in the workforce and are starting families of their own." I enjoyed reading the background on this statement because I am learning a lot about this topic in my current classes.

Being a millennial, it is strange for myself to think that my generation is the now; that people in my age group are the major contributors to working companies. I barely think of myself as a real life functioning adult, so it is just crazy to think I am 2 years from working a full- time job. I interned at a corporation over this past summer who although seemed to be full of older generational employees, was nearly out numbered by young and upcoming workers new to the company. I also witnessed an older employee go through the process of retiring while a young man fresh out of college basically took his place.

On the topic of my internship, I also was fortunate to sit in on a bi-annual discussion of what would be changing with the company. The article says "Once you have great employees on board, how do you keep them from jumping ship? One way is by offering a good benefits package." My company seemed to live by this. They aimed to keep implementing benefits and rewards for a job well done. I can not completely speak for other generations, but as a millennial I know we always appreciate rewards for our hard work. In my one Labor and Employment Relations class, we even discussed how millennial are privileged in the sense that, for example, both youth recreational soccer teams will get trophies no matter if they win our lose. We are brought up to expect reward no matter what outcome.

I feel the article is a tad biased towards generations other than millennials. Although it speaks of workforces changing their ways to tailor toward millennial way of work, I felt a sense of narcism while speaking of all the change.

The article goes on to discuss changing health insurance, legal matters, and basic benefits. With new workforce demographics comes new work enforcement. The 21st century is a time for change and the article goes on to discuss with a new generation leading the workforce, new laws must be put in to place.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page