top of page

Adjusting to New Labor Laws

I have been fortunate enough to find my passion for HR so soon in my college career. It took me some time to figure out what part of HR I am aiming to pursue. However, after interning this past summer I realized I enjoy labor laws. I understand them well and enjoy learning about them.

Due to my ongoing interest in labor laws, I often read articles concerning the topic. I recently came across one about the state of California adjusting many of their labor laws. Readers may or may not be aware of the recent sexual harassment/ assault scandals on Harvey Weinstein, an infamous producer. I personally read a new article on the situation everyday through The Daily Mail. Because of the disgusting acts performed by Weinstein and the large number of victims, California has decided to implement a new law. Specifically, focusing on high-powered executives not being able to take advantage of employees.

The article mentions the following, 'Berg calls the Weinstein scandal a wakeup call to employers. Not only do they need a well-defined antiharassment policy, a complaint procedure with various avenues for complaining, and a provision ensuring employees that they won’t suffer retaliation if they make complaints, employers also need measures in place to address allegations against top executives. Employers “cannot bury their heads in the sand when allegations are made against a CEO or owner of a large company,” she says. She also emphasizes the importance of training for top decision-makers on “proper oversight and how to address these issues.”'

Being as passionate as I am about HR, and a business woman, this law is revolutionary to me. Hopefully one day in our lifetime there will be this type of enforcement in all corporations all over, not just California.

https://hr.blr.com/HR-news/Staffing-Training/Visas-and-Eligibility-to-Work/ICE-Time-Immigration-Enforcement-Update/


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page